top of page

On the Mend!

FROM KATRINA:

Hello from the other side of surgery! Not gonna lie, it was pretty rough for the first 5-6 days, but then I was amazed by how fast my body started to heal. I had my drains removed from the incision site on Monday and am feeling much more mobile and pain free.

I want to send a HUGE thank you out for all the yummy food, amazing cards, sweet messages, gorgeous flowers, childcare, dog walkers and healing prayers that were sent our way. WOW. SO. MUCH. LOVE. I am also in awe of the support from total strangers who have spent hours on the phone with me. These women shared their stories and offered their wisdom about their own personal breast cancer journey. The last six weeks have been intense to say the least, but alongside the tough moments, I am filled with more gratitude and love than ever before. Thank you.


Here's a snapshot of the recovery time in my "healing cocoon". Lots of deep rest, water, and lots of love, followed by lots of candles, aromatherapy and Netflix!

Big shoutout to my incredible parents and dear friends who took shifts at our home after the surgery, sometimes 24 hours round-the-clock so someone could help me while Dan was with Ezra, or vice versa. My parents have been helping every single day in the most incredible ways. Like us, this has become their new full-time job. I am so grateful that they live so close and have been my my side every step of the way.

Walking down this path with a two-year-old in tow is not easy at times. (BUT, as my friend who’s a cancer survivor/thriver(!) said, Those kiddos are the best medicine!) Hearing Ezra's little footsteps running down the hall or hearing him try to pronounce "cucumber" (pu-bombobo) puts a big warm fuzzy feeling in my heart every time. Since the surgery, there has always been someone with Ezra, and someone by my side to help me. So much gratitude for this outpouring of help. THANK YOU to my Good Vibe Tribe!!

Captain Dan

And biggest shoutout to the Captain of my Good Vibe Tribe.. DAN!! Whoa. At one point in the recovery room, he was the one getting my blankets, tucking towels under my arms, getting water, making sure I had oxygen, checking that I was getting the right pain meds, helping me stand, and by my side every step of the way. We didn’t get a room until 11:30 pm after the surgery, but he was willing to sleep in a little chair by my bedside. Heart melt. He helped me change my drains every day and administered my meds with clockwork precision. I keep telling him that he missed his calling as a nurse; he's THAT GOOD! I love you more than words could ever describe.


You are my rock. I found the best husband, best daddy, and best partner in the world. Thank you, my love.

Back to business: the pathology reports have started start to come in this week and I have met with my oncologist (and will get a second and third opinion next week) about the best steps forward. We kindly request your patience while we educate ourselves about my diagnosis, and gather as much info as possible. We anticipate that next steps will be decided in the next two weeks, and we will put up another post when we’re ready to share.


First outing: Hitting the kid b-day party scene!

I have gotten a lot of questions about how I found the lump, what type of BC is it, why it didn't show up on a mammogram, etc . I wrote the story down from diagnosis to surgery and think I will share it at some point soon. I know some people are more private about these matters, but it has been very helpful and positive for me to be open with others about what is going on.  I have found that the more people understand, the more knowledge and less fear they approach me with, and are more able to help in whatever ways they can.  


Thank you again for all of your love and support.

Love, 

Katrina

bottom of page